Skip to content

Moussaka

February 7, 2010
tags: ,

My father in law loves to cook, and for the Saturday family meal this week he made something I’ve never heard of or seen before, which is hardly news considering I don’t even know half the names of the vegetables he has in the kitchen. But this particular dish was exceptionally amazing: moussaka. It’s a casserole of Egyptian origin that resembles lasagna with its many layers, only there’s no pasta or cheese (cheese + meat = not kosher).

moussaka

It’s basically layers of eggplant, thinly sliced potatoes, ground meat, some other vegetables, and topped with dough. Today he made it with ground turkey so that his pseudo-vegetarian-but-poultry-friendly-so-long-as-there-are-no-bones-attached daughter in law could try it!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. February 7, 2010 4:48 am

    I like this Lebanese version: http://www.woolfit.com/moussaka.html

    • February 7, 2010 8:47 pm

      That sounds awesome. I will pass the recipe on to the chefs who feed me 🙂

  2. Ann permalink
    February 7, 2010 6:40 pm

    I love moussaka, but would never be brave enough to cook it. Kudos to the cook…again

    • February 7, 2010 8:49 pm

      The only thing he’s made that I don’t like is gefilte fish, and that’s really not his fault.

  3. February 8, 2010 10:03 pm

    You’d never had moussaka before?!! What an impoverished life you’ve led! I’m glad someone has finally opened your eyes.

    • February 9, 2010 6:57 am

      I’m new to eating meals that consist of something other than gummy candy or sushi. I have a lot to learn.

Leave a Reply

