Skip to content

日本に生まれてくればよかったのに

April 28, 2010

My favorite childhood cartoons were all terribly edited English translations of anime, and I had no idea that I hadn’t been watching the originals until I began studying Japanese in college. That’s when I realized that by being born in America, I had been deprived of some truly amazing cuteness.

Case in point: Unico, who I fell in love with in “The Fantastic Adventures of Unico” in the ’80s, is even more adorable in Japanese. In fact, it’s almost to the point of being painfully cute.

Unico

Compare these two versions:

Not bad. But now watch this:

Granted, I believe Japan can completely overdo cute to the point of insanity, and I’ve never knowingly been an anime fan — in fact, I avoid the subculture completely, namely because オタク (otaku, people with obsessive interests, often in anime, manga, or video games) truly frighten me. But when it comes to kids’ stuff, being ridiculously adorable is priority number one.

Leave a Reply

