Skip to content

Immigrating to Israel without the Law of Return: Part 5

July 15, 2010

Part 1 | Part 2 | Part 3 | Part 4 | Part 5 | Part 6

The last time I visited the משרד הפנים (Misrad ha’Pnim, Ministry of the Interior), my file was deemed hopeless enough to warrant being shipped to the Jerusalem headquarters. After months of protest, yelling, and rampant miscommunication, the highest authority said my תיודת יושר (tedudat yosher, honesty certificate) must, without exception, state my maiden and married names even though I had presented an apostilled letter from my state saying it was impossible to do.

In desperation, I emailed the amazing woman at the state police headquarters who has been handling my case. I told her, very persuasively and from the heart, that this was the last obstacle in a lengthy path filled with obstacles preventing me from being legally allowed to live with my husband. She immediately went up the chain of command until she found the person with enough power to make an unheard of exception for me. I’ll be getting what I need in the mail shortly.

Just when you are ready to lose all faith in bureaucracy, someone who still has a heart gets involved and the world makes sense again. Here’s hoping this will set things straight with the Misrad ha’Pnim and I’ll finally be granted permanent residency status before the end of the year.

Here are some pictures to celebrate the loveliness that is my home state (click for larger versions):

Michigan in winter

Michigan in summer

Next step: setting up an appointment in September.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2010 8:23 pm

    That is what I like to call a blessing.

    Good luck with the next appointment and keep us updated!

  2. July 21, 2010 2:27 pm

    Beautiful pictures! And what a blessing!

    • July 21, 2010 4:58 pm

      Thanks, Penelope! And speaking of blessings, congratulations on all your recent happiness 🙂

  3. Holly permalink
    October 27, 2010 3:28 pm

    Hi Katie

    I am moving to Israel in January with my Israeli husband. It has been SUCH a blessing to find your blog and so eye-opening to read your experience.

    There is so much more I would like to know though… Do you have residency yet? Are you still on international medical aid? Or have you been able to switch over to the government med. aid?
    We have been told that once I am issued with the israeli ID card I will be able to qualify for some of the aliyah benefits (like free Ulpan etc. )… Do you have any experience with attenpting this?

Leave a Reply

