Skip to content

The Israeli Crocs crisis

August 17, 2010
tags: ,

Crocs are huge in Israel. They are absolutely everywhere, worn by almost every person. I notice them most commonly on kids, but it’s hardly rare to see an entire family out for an evening at a nice restaurant, completely outfitted in Crocs of varying jarring colors.

There are, however, some authorities who discourage them. Last year during the high holidays, a rabbi proclaimed that Crocs are just too comfortable to be worn on Yom Kippur, a day of atonement on which Jews are supposed to be uncomfortable. The reason they were banned was because everyone — seriously, everyone — seems to be wearing them.

A Midwestern friend stopped by Israel to visit, and within a day even she noticed the Crocs explosion. She shares my befuddlement over and disapproval of their indiscriminate popularity in all situations. When I was showing her around Haifa this weekend, we stopped by a big mall to get out of the heat, where we saw another admonition against Crocs and couldn’t not take a picture:

No Crocs allowed in Israeli mall

I’m sure this is nothing more than a warning about the danger of Crocs on escalators rather than social commentary, but I can only imagine how many Croc-wearing citizens had to get their footwear stuck before the sign became necessary.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Claire permalink
    August 18, 2010 9:50 pm

    I WISH that sticker was social commentary! I also really like your use of the phrase “hardly rare.” Thank you for making my day.

    • August 19, 2010 12:38 am

      “Hardly rare” was a deliberate choice that seemed more neutral than my first instinct, which included a reference to the Israeli penchant for pairing Crocs with sweatsuits and the occasional skinny-legged floral jumpsuit. Hope you’re feeling better!

  2. August 20, 2010 9:35 am

    Were you in Japan when the Croc phenomenon hit there too? Never understood it… although the flats they came out with are a bit more bearable. I even considered buying a pair (gasp!).

    • August 20, 2010 9:58 am

      I was there, though it didn’t seem nearly as endemic as here, probably because I was overwhelmingly in downtown Tokyo surrounded by fancy shoes. After she read this blog post, a friend reminded me of the escalator warnings in Japan against the dangers of ゴム製のサンダル、which I had never connected to Crocs! They’re not “sandals” in my mind at all. I guess it really is a worldwide phenomenon though. And I’m glad you didn’t buy a pair 🙂

Leave a Reply

