Skip to content

Thank you, electric fan

August 25, 2010

It’s dusty in this country. Lack of central air makes keeping windows open a universal necessity, and the desert air that constantly passes through makes keeping up with dusting a big job, especially when your allergenic spouse can’t get near anything dirty without sneezing pitifully for the rest of the day.

I take my dust-fighting role very seriously, which includes much sweeping and mopping and the employment of a color-coded dust mitten arsenal. I was also reminded by one of these photos that I needed to dismantle and thoroughly scrub a particular electric fan that has gone through too much dust-riddled air this summer.

Little did I realize that in order to reassemble an electric fan in Israel, my years of Japanese study would come in handy. As I turned the front cover of the fan over in the sink to clean the other side, I saw this and immediately snapped a picture:

Israeli fan with Japanese label

Just when I thought an entire chapter of my life had no practical use now that I live elsewhere, this dirty fan totally made my day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 28, 2010 7:37 am

    ooh, I want one of those dust mittens too. might as well have fun with all the dust that piles up around here, right?

    that fan pic made me laugh… you never know when your studies will come in handy!
    (but is the fan actually from china? they’ve outdone us in exports for a long time now…)

    • August 28, 2010 10:03 am

      Colorful dust mittens are the best part about cleaning! You’ll be happy you got one. The brighter the color, the harder it is to get annoyed at the constant accumulation of dust.

      I considered the possibility of the fan being Chinese, but that’s not nearly so exciting 🙂

Leave a Reply

