Skip to content

The foreignness of the non-Midwestern world

August 31, 2010

Despite being so far away from the Midwest for so long, it still shocks me how foreign others can seem when they don’t exhibit or even grasp the behaviors that to me have always seemed like innate human qualities. To them, I exhibit an equally puzzling foreignness by being sincerely nice for the sake of being nice, smiling genuinely at people even if they’re complete strangers, or forgiving and forgetting just about anything so long as the person in question is truly good — or for that matter, taking the time or even having the capacity to recognize and care that no human being should be dismissed or deemed evil until proven otherwise — these things just don’t happen with any regularity outside the delightful Midwestern bubble of conditioned naïveté, I guess.

Today, I am homesick. This happens for about five minutes once every three years, so I thought it best to document the feeling.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Claire permalink
    August 31, 2010 9:41 pm

    I second this post.

    • August 31, 2010 10:03 pm

      We should form an organization called Displaced Midwesterners Who Face Occasional Israeli Culture Shock No Matter How Long We Live Here. Or something that lends to a better acronym.

  2. Jessica B. permalink
    August 31, 2010 10:48 pm

    Poor Tay. I guess in a lot of ways, we’re very lucky here in the ole US. When do you think you’ll next come to the land of smiles for a visit? Kyle and I want to visit you and Shlomo as well, maybe next year? I’ve also been promising Ireland for a few years as well, so that’s on the to do list. Hmm, Ireland is close to Israel, right? 🙂

    • August 31, 2010 11:31 pm

      In order to maintain the tradition of tall people congregating on random continents, I encourage you guys to visit us first! You’ll never have the chance (or a reason, for that matter) to stay in the safest city in the Middle East again 🙂

  3. Kimberly permalink
    September 1, 2010 6:18 pm

    I found it funny that for you it’s noticing the lack of random niceness in the people around you that makes you homesick. For me, it’s the unexpected sent of urine on a street or a dank, dark restaurant or awesome southern food that makes me homesick!! hahaha

    • September 2, 2010 12:36 am

      Lol. Every time I see Spanish moss hanging from a tree or a beignet (which unfortunately don’t grow on trees), it reminds me of my time in the south with you!

      • Kimberly permalink
        September 9, 2010 6:00 pm

        whoops!! “sent” meant “scent”… I know you knew that, but still!!! hahaha

  4. September 2, 2010 5:59 pm

    Had one of those days (or a few)? Whatever the reason(s), I hope you’re feeling better now.

    I ate some decent (well, in Israeli standards) Japanese food the other day and I thought I was going to cry, it made me miss home so much for a second.

    • September 2, 2010 6:31 pm

      I’m feeling much better, thank you. These moments come and go quickly and are thankfully infrequent. Have you tried Kyoto in Herzliya Pituach? It’s the best place I’ve found so far, though it’s much more fusion than traditional Japanese food.

Leave a Reply

