Skip to content

Solo food project #1

December 5, 2010

I am not the family chef, but sometimes I have to stand in when the designated cook of the house is too busy to feed me. Today was one of those days, and I decided it was a great time to try a recipe I’ve been meaning to add to the household repertoire for several weeks: סלט גזר (salat gezer, carrot salad). I wish it had a more dramatic name that conveyed its appeal more vividly, but that’s what it’s called.

My mother-in-law made it for the big weekly family shabbat meal and it was a sensational hit. I’m a picky eater and prone to being limited to what I can enjoy at such meals, but this salad was special. I especially struggle to find dishes I like using ingredients that are readily available in Israel, as I strongly dislike a lot of this country’s staples, namely olives, hummus, and anything related to טחינה (tchina, tahini).

This salad is simple enough to make at 10 p.m. after a long day so you have something yummy to pack for lunches the next day. All you need are three simple ingredients for the salad:

Carrots, chives, and pecans

And a few more for the sauce:

Canola oil, red wine vinegar, dijon mustard, dark brown sugar, garlic

Mix it all together, and this is what you end up with:

סלת גזר (carrot salad)

The amounts of each ingredient depend on your preferences, but this is the recipe I was given:

Salad

  • 3-4 carrots, grated
  • handful of chives, finely chopped
  • 50 g. sweetened pecans

Sauce

  • 1/3 c. canola oil
  • 1/3 c. red wine vinegar
  • 1/3 c. dark brown sugar
  • 1 c. dijon mustard
  • 1/3 tsp. garlic, minced

I used significantly less oil (about half) and significantly more carrots (about twice what was pictured above). I crushed the pecans slightly because I didn’t want to increase the amount in proportion to the carrots. I think next time I’ll use a little more oil and a little less mustard and see how it compares.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

