Skip to content

Seagulls and reality

July 24, 2012
tags: , ,

Sometimes it’s easy to forget where you are when you’re on a beach. Not that it’s easy to get confused about being on a beach, but rather the details can often run together — which beach, which body of water, which continent? I often lose track.

Yesterday the temperature climbed well into the nineties and there was a strong breeze making the sound of crashing waves audible from my office at home, so I headed to the beach. While staring out over the water with the tremendously bright sun making it hard to think or see straight, my brain relocated back to a beach in Israel and the massive Great Lake in front of me morphed into the even more massive Mediterranean.

I snapped back to reality a few moments later when a flock of seagulls descended, settled on the sand around me, and turned to gaze out over the water as well.

Seagulls and Lake Michigan

Seagulls never interrupted my thoughts on beaches in Israel, and it made me wonder — where are all the Israeli seagulls? They must congregate in more locations than just Yaffo and the port area, which is the only place I can recall seeing a group of them hanging out. Perhaps the shouting popsicle vendors and confusing combination of watermelon and Bulgarian cheese keep them at bay.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 25, 2012 1:23 pm

    I can totally relate to your “where am I?” moment at the beach! I’ve never noticed the lack of seagulls here… now I will have something to look for next time I’m on a beach 🙂

Leave a Reply

